PHYSIOGRAPHY 21

forest stands of the eastern United States were depleted and sawn lumber was needed to house a growing population. Also, the American railway and canal network had extended to the Canadian border making transportation easy. Encouraged by these favourable conditions American industrialists came to Bytown and established large sawmills by the Chaudière Falls. Soon the islands about the falls and the flats on both shores were covered with lumber piles and loaded barges were on their way to the American market. The lumber industry began its rise to a position of dominance. At the beginning of 1855, Bytown became a city and took the name Ottawa.

The United Province of Canada, since its formation in 1841 had shuttled its capital between Kingston, Toronto, Montreal and Quebec and was now trying to agree on a permanent site. At the end of 1857 Queen Victoria settled the dispute by choosing Ottawa. Government buildings for the new capital were designed and contracts were let in 1859 for their construction. However, the cost was much greater than expected and it was not until 1866 that the government of the Province of Canada actually moved to Ottawa. The next year the first Parliament of the new Dominion of Canada met in an incomplete Parliament Building, situated on the former Barrack Hill.

The nation was prosperous during most of the next decade. Ottawa grew and the government expanded as the Dominion extended its authority over more and more of British North America. In 1871 the city had a population of about 22,000. Many fine homes and stores in stone and brick were built. The Departmental Buildings, flanking the Parliament Building on the Hill, were enlarged. An old wooden City Hall near the Rideau Canal was replaced in 1876 by a stone building and a large post office was erected at the city's centre. By the end of the century, Ottawa was a flourishing industrial centre with a population of 59,000. It remained the hub of the lumber industry of eastern Canada, had the largest paper mills in the country and the leading match factory in the world. However, little effort had been made to preserve or enhance its natural beauty until the Ottawa Improvement Commission was formed in 1899 and the Driveway along the Rideau Canal was begun. Progress was slow but in the years up to the beginning of World War I the city centre began to take on a new face. Many new government buildings were built - the Dominion Observatory and Geodetic Building at the Experimental Farm, the Archives Building, the Victoria Memorial Museum, the Royal Canadian Mint and the Connaught Building. In 1912 the Grand Trunk Railway completed construction of the Union Station and the Chateau Laurier. During this period there were several studies and plans for the improvement of the National Capital but these were deferred because of the War and for other reasons. Fire destroyed the Parliament Building in 1916, leaving standing only the Library which now forms part of the building of neo-Gothic architecture which replaced it. The beautification of the Capital was continued by the Ottawa Improvement Commission until 1927 when it was replaced by the Federal District Commission. The first major step in the redevelopment of the National Capital took place in 1951 with the tabling of a comprehensive master plan for the National Capital Region, the "Gréber Plan". The National Capital Commission was formed in 1959 to carry out its recommendations.

Ottawa today, with a population of some 300,000, and the city of Hull on the north side of the Ottawa River, with a population of about 65,000, comprise the core of the National Capital Region, an area of about 1,800 sq miles in Ontario and Quebec. In lineal distance, the nearest extremity of the Region to Parliament Hill is 18 miles and the farthest is 35 miles. Within that area there are 57 municipalities and a total population of about 600,000. Industrial development in the Region is limited, a large proportion of the work force being employed by the federal government or associated with government functions.

Although the terms of reference of the National Capital Commission are "to prepare plans for and assist in the development, conservation and improvement of the National Capital Region in order that the nature and character of the seat of the Government of Canada may be in accordance with its national significance", it should be noted that the Commission does not have jurisdictional authority over any of the municipal or regional authorities or the two provincial governments concerned. Most matters affecting the municipalities — such as planning, zoning, land use, building density, public transit, parking and construction of streets, arterial roads and highways — are within their sole jurisdiction, subject only to provincial government approval, so that the National Capital Commission in its development